Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the ways to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste

Undoubtedly, recycling waste is becoming a daunting challenge as dwellers are not responsive enough to cater the disposal requirements. Therefore, necessary legislation from state-owned municipal institutions is required to confront this problem. In many ways, litter categorization is considered a challenging activity when it comes in a form of heaps. Thus, its sorting becomes a formidable challenge and as a result most of the debris gets disposed of directly to the landfill sites. For example, Electronic scraps such as computers, cell phones and other electronic devices get disposed of in landfills rather than getting recycled. On the contrary, if scrap categorization can be done with respect to the material then wastes can be wisely utilized. For instance, wet debris which consists of biodegradable material can be utilized in soil fertilization industries and in biomass projects which can provide enormous benefits to the habitants of that region. To reap benefits from recycling strict pragmatic measures need to be implemented by the state institutions for the residents either by imposing penalties or by rewarding benefits. To illustrate this further, in developed countries the concept of scrap vending machines is becoming widely popular where people get rewarded by the government for disposing of sorted waste. Similarly, in many regions educational drives are led by governmental organizations to educate residents about the importance of recycling. In conclusion, measures which include rewards and penalties can provide a far-reaching impact on the reduction in the disposal of debris which may also reduce the carbon footprints that may benefits the ecological environment.