Discuss the disadvantages of eating fast food on health. Why do people eat fast food? What can be done to discourage it?

Fast food is commonly consumed in this day and age. Due to its convenience, as well as the prevalence of junk- food restaurants, people from every country eat fast food on a regular basis. However, this comes with serious health detriments, some of which I will touch on in brief. Firstly, it is addictive. The industries that profit from fast- food hire culinary engineers to design foods carrying the perfect balance of fat, sugar, and salt as well as chemicals and preservatives to turn their menu items into highly palatable, addictive options. Due to this, people who indulge in junk food find themselves craving more and more. However, constantly satisfying one's cravings with nutritionally deprived, high-calorie, hyper-palatable foods can lead to diseases such as binge-eating disorder, obesity and diabetes. To combat this, we could further educate people on diet related health problem. Secondly, the number of convenience food restaurant chains each with multiple of their own individual branches around every corner is absurdly high. These restaurants are everywhere, making them an easy choice for those who are low on time. Therefore, these individuals may find themselves going to the nearest hamburger chain to buy a quick-fix combo instead of taking time to cook their own meals on top of their already busy schedules. This is a common solution amongst busy employees that can inadvertently lead them to feel lethargic and unproductive later in the day. Alternatively, they could resort to a ready-to-eat meal delivery system that could be a healthy choice as well as save them time. In conclusion, comfort food consumption is a common issue due to its addictive nature as well as how available and convenient it is. Education as well as health-conscious decision-making are effective methods of discouraging its consumption.