In some countries, students pay their college or university fees, while in some others, the government pays for them. Do the advantages of governments paying for fees outweigh the disadvantages?

The public has different views in terms of whether administrations should be responsible for school pupils’ tuitions tuition spending expenses or not. Personally, I would have to support the idea that tertiary education expenses paid by authorities have more drawbacks in terms of education quality and societal resources. On the one hand, it is understandable for some people individuals to believe that it is beneficial for administrations to spend public funds on tertiary education charges. One of the main reasons is social fairness. To be more specific, gaining knowledge from university tertiary education institutions is everyone’s right, which allows people individuals to enhance their skills and finally become exceptional in their fields of specialization. Additionally, Another reason is that if some majors required require high tuition fees costs and youths from poor family families cannot afford them, administrations play a vital role to handle for in handling this kind of situation. For instance, they can set up a financial education program to help those pupils to study in fields areas of knowledge like law, art, and medicine. On the other hand, administrations allocating funds for free tertiary education are detrimental. This is because the quality of education will be significantly affected. To be precise, the number of students will increase, as the tuition fees are low or even free and parents would like to send their kids to college. Therefore, teachers who need to have one-to-many classes will concentrate more on everyone’s learning process rather than teaching professional and difficult knowledge. Lastly, the government reallocating the money for education would decrease funds for other aspects. Especially during the COVID-19 period, medical problem problems and infrastructure construction become more and more important, which are relative to human beings’ survival. In conclusion, although it would be helpful for some families living below the poverty line if authorities paid for tertiary education, it seems to me that the drawbacks in terms of education quality and proper allocation of funds outweigh the advantages.