It is important for people to take risks, both in their personal lives and professional lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risk outweigh the disadvantages?

Venturing out into the unknown and taking risks are, to some extent, essential to almost everyone both professionally and personally. Some may argue that risk-taking is unnecessary and may lead to more disadvantages than advantages, but this essay will seek to argue that its pros outweigh its cons. On the one hand, it is irrefutable that taking risks is risky, and is accompanied by some potentially unavoidable drawbacks. The biggest and most profound disadvantage that people fear when taking risks is the wanted results do not show up. In other words, people fail to get what they expect. And failures usually lead people to experience negatively chaotic scenarios such as instability at work, chaotic financial lives, emotional breakdowns, or losing personal confidence. These may result in a surge of pressure and stress that people have to bear, and for those who have a low-stress endurance threshold, such a sudden increase is destructive, or even lethal. However, these excuses are not sufficient to stop people from enjoying the benefits offered by being adventurous and taking risks. First of all, trying new things in life brings the necessary excitement which breaks the tedious repetition in lives, motivates and keeps people moving forward. Even though failures are one of the potential consequences, examples of people who succeed by taking risks are uncountable. For instance, Mark Zuckerberg, co-founder of a multi-billion technology company dropped out of university and followed his outlandish dream, and is now one of the youngest and richest people on the planet. Besides, risk-taking will save us unnecessary regrets later in life for choosing to play safe, which makes our one and only life forgettable. In conclusion, while taking risks is important, fear of failure keeps people sticking to their ordinary patterns and leading risk-free life. However, considering the wonders that taking risks can bring to our lives, I still contend that its advantages totally outweigh its disadvantages.