Some educationalists say that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there are various courses designed for children, including learning to play musical instruments such as pianos or violins. Some educationalists believe that it is essential for each child to acquire this skill. While being taught the way to use a musical instrument is valid to a certain extent, I believe that it is not suitable for all children and may cause stress and waste time. On the one hand, there are many compelling reasons why minors should learn to play at least one musical instrument. Firstly, playing a musical instrument from a young age can support children with high concentration which is beneficial to other academic performances. Therefore, a lot of parents tend to invest money in order to seek instrument learning courses for juveniles. Secondly, learning to play a musical instrument plays an important role in developing musical talents. That is because children endowed with musical intelligence have an opportunity to achieve their full potential. On the other hand, despite the aforementioned benefits, I would contend that requiring all children to learn a musical tool can do more harm than good because not everyone has an aptitude for that. Forcing a minor to attend a piano course can make him or her suffer from stress. As a result, this may affect children ’s mental health. Hence, it is better to allow a child to acquire whatever they feel interested in. Furthermore, once learning a musical tool is ineffective for a juvenile, it will be time-consuming. For example, instead of attending musical lessons, children can spend more time cultivating their skills in other subjects namely languages, maths or computer science. In conclusion, even though the potential benefits of learning to play a musical instrument make it seem like a good idea, I believe it is not designed for every single child and can bring drawbacks in the end.