The internet allows us to stay connected with each other no matter where we are. On the other hand, it also isolates us and encourages people not to socialise. To what extent do you agree or disagree with these statements? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Nowadays, with the advent of social media such as Twitter, Instagram and Facebook, more and more people started to use internet in order to communicate with each other from different places. In this way, people who live far from their hometown can keep in touch with their family and friends. However, the rise of internet popularity isn't always seen as a positive fact: some people think that thanks to social networks new generations tend to stay more at home just chatting or videocalling with their friends instead of going out and spend some quality time with them doing interesting and social activities such as playing a sport together, having a dinner in a nice restaurant or dancing in a disco club. According to them, current technology led people to a lazier lifestyle and encouraged them not to make new relations and experience in the real world but just through a screen. I partially agree with them because I think that internet sometimes can make people asocial and detached from reality. In fact, since it allows you to have the world at your fingertips, some people started asking themselves what's the point in going out or travelling when you can talk to your friends and dicover new things about different cultures from home as well just using your phone or your laptop. Giving credit to this belief, people exclude themeselves from unique experience they could make in the real world that cannot be replaced by some images or some research on wikipedia. Altought, in my opinion internet has more benefits than drawbacks. For example, in my life social media play a role of paramount importance: I moved to Amsterdam four months ago and I often feel homesick. But thanks to Whatsapp I can text my family and friends whenever I want! Moreover, through Instagram I can see what my friends are doing everyday and this makes me feel closer to them. I also enjoy sharing pictures and videos of my life in the Netherands so that they can comment my posts and let me know what they think about my adventures and my routine. Plus, thanks to internet I can keep up with my country news whilist I live abroad. In conclusion, even though it has a lot of disadvantages, I believe that internet is a wonderful tool that allows people to stay connected when physically distance keeps them apart, and I'm glad to live in a society in which I can talk with my family despite the several kilometeres that divide us.