Nowadays the most important task is the environmental protection of our planet for future generations. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the contemporary era, human activities have greatly caused negative impacts on the environment. To ensure our next generation has a healthy and comfortable life, I strongly believe that it is urgent to protect our planet. First, pollution causes health problems in children. Due to industrialization and urbanization, pollution around the world is increasing at an alarming rate. For example, air pollution caused by greenhouse gas emissions is worsening due to the surge of vehicles. The pollutants in the air are verified to be the predominant cause of respiratory diseases. Moreover, industrial waste and untreated sewage also contaminate water to a large extent. Our home is suffering from a variety of contamination, which jeopardizes our children's health. Thus, it is vital to come up with solutions to alleviate this problem. In addition, life could become particularly inconvenient for future generations with the detrimental environment. Recent research states that global warming, owing to a large amount of gas exhaust and the decreasing green spaces, leads to extreme weather. Abnormal weather, such as storms, hurricanes, and heat waves, is not that rare recently worldwide. When suffering from severe weather events, people can hardly live a normal life and experience difficulty going out for routines. Working, attending school and doing the groceries, for instance, are not simple as usual. This leads to serious inconvenience and may further cause accidents. In conclusion, considering the negative effects, threats to health and the lower quality of life, that a damaged environment brings, I totally agree we should take immediate actions to protect our planet and make the world a livable place for future generations.