Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. However, it is longer the main form of transport. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population?

Travelling by bike is environmentally friendly but it is still not the main form of transport. I will show you an explanation of this and suggest some activities to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population. The first reason that can be easily seen is that cycling takes more time than any other vehicle. For an average distance such as from home to school, students often prefer to get to school by bus or motorbike rather than riding a bike because it takes less time when using a motorbike or public transport so they can get up later. Secondly, the bicycle is only a short-distance transport. We can hardly ride a bike for a distance like 10km to work so the bicycle is very inconvenient. Moreover, along with the development of technology, people can have a electrical bike and that causes bikes to become more unuseful. So what should we do to improve the consumption of bicycles? Although the electrical bike is still environmentally friendly, its accumulation is harmful to the environment when it is discarded. According to this, the bicycle is still the most environmentally friendly transport. The best way for encouraging more people to use bikes is to limit motor vehicles in society. In China, the government tax very high on people who have cars and prevent them from having many cars. In conclusion, cycling can hardly be the main transport because of many reasons. But we should encourage using bicycles if they have opportunities.