More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the Internet. Is this a positive development or a negative development?

Nowadays, traditional media are confronted with the threat of being extinct as more people turn to the internet for up-to-date news with the facility of modern technologies. While some people are concerned with the downsides of this trend, I am convinced that we can reap more benefits. The unparalleled timeliness of emerging media has enabled netizens to have easy access to current affairs fast. In a fraction of a second, tons of news are updated after website pages refresh, in contrast, launching a press report undergoes several processes including compiling, polishing, censoring and even delivery in the case of paper media, which is neither time-consuming nor economical. Another benefit opponents may possibly ignore is that online information can be even life-saving when it comes to natural disasters. Take earthquakes as an example, residents living several kilometres from the centre of the source can be well-informed when surfing the internet at the instant of occurrence, allowing sufficient time for evacuating and settling. Moreover, the internet is open to almost all citizens and is where they are exposed to diverse views on one event. Owing to the fact that online forums are widely accessible among the public, intense discussions on current affairs are likely to be sparkled, thus the degree of participation is high. Diversity of opinions and doubts on the validity of reports are allowed to thrive here, whereas news analyses in newspapers tend to be one-sided and biased, as well as TV shows that obtain higher audience share through editing and distorting certain clips. It may seem undeniable that the freedom to speak is attended by the possibility of disseminating misleading reports, and that where people are given the right to vent emotions and share experiences without revealing their true identities, rumours with particular intentions will ensue. However, the government are aware of this problem prior to the public and has taken tough measure to combat and curb the spread of rumours. For instance, the public who sends tip-offs of information that may lead to social unrest can be rewarded and the culprits to such issues are always faced with long prison terms. In conclusion, I believe the overall benefits of receiving news online far outweigh its drawbacks. Not only the speed of transmission is greatly enhanced, but the diversity of perspectives on them is also more remarkable.