Competitiveness is seen as a positive quality for people to have in many societies today. How does this competitiveness affect individuals? Is it a positive or negative quality?

Recently, more and more people are required to develop a good quality of being competitive in different circumstances. This situation has a wide range of influences on citizens and I think its advantages outweigh disadvantages. When we come into the world, we are in a competitive environment. As a student, we compete to get higher scores in order to enter a famous university. After working, with high pressures, all employees face competition about high salaries and promotions. Due to the long-term effect, competitiveness gradually runs deep in every individual so that the elder require the next generation to overcome all rivals in any circumstance. There is no doubt that too much competitiveness may lead to stressful and fickle societies, in my point of view, it is essential to build up competitive spirits in the present social conditions. Firstly, it is more likely to boost personal potential in competitions, exploring surprising abilities and improving our self-confidence. More importantly, if most employees are competitive to deal with any issue in working, the company will gain great benefits as well as provide financial supports to the local government. For instance, a famous technology company named Huawei requires all hirelings to work in competitions. In a high-intensity working environment, the company make a huge contribution on tax revenue and technological creativity, meanwhile, cultivating many talents and influencing other company culture. In conclusion, competitiveness is becoming one of the most important qualities nowadays and I do believe that we can gain advantages from competitive societies.