Some people think that social media platforms are useful for business and making new friends, while others think that such websites are harmful. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of social media.

In the changed scenario, using public platforms become a necessity to lead a good life. Although it has benefited people in a plethora of ways namely continuing forms and making humans sociable yet still people were anxious about its adverse effect. First and foremost, highlighting its advantages, the predominant, one worth mentioning is that these social sites are much more productive for associations. To be more specific, business owners use Instagram, Facebook, YouTube etc for the promotion of their products and services which attract a lot of people by providing huge discounts. For example, during any,festival famous corporations offer 60 - 70% discounts, and that proliferation in sales automatically boosts the profit of the company. Hence, in this way these public sites step in favour of business. Secondly, WhatsApp, LinkedIn, Twitter, and all are very common platforms to make friends online despite the distance. In other words, with the help of the internet, nowadays individual makes friend online with the same interest group and build up relationships and also share their feelings with each other. Tim Cooper, from Sheffield Hallam University in the UK, for instance, points out that half a decade ago, people suffer more from depression although now they share their happiness and sorrows which results in less depression and the happiest life. Nevertheless, much more valuable platforms for alone people. Shifting towards its darker aspect, it cannot be denied that, it affects the study and health of children. To elucidate, children use a lot of social media rather than devote time towards studies which also weakens the eyesight of students. In conclusion, operating a social platform has both pros and cons. So humans must learn to use it in an effective manner so that the benefits can be availed and drawbacks can be controlled.