The rise of the convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern lifestyle.What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The consumption of convenience foods has risen to save customers time in cooking. The efficiency these products provided is inevitable. In the following essay, I would describe some positive notes of this fashion of buying ready-to-eat meals. The first reason to have convenience foods is their durability. This kind of food is usually well-cooked or semi-cooked in order to shorten the cooking time. Bacteria or germs can be removed during this procedure. In other words, the expiration date of these products is usually long. Therefore, they can be stored for a longer period. It takes much lesser effort to purchase them periodically. This is especially convenient for those who usually work overtime and thus can not catch up on the opening hours of supermarkets. The second reason supporting the existence of convenience foods is the good packaging of these goods. For example, hotdogs that are sold in grocery stores in Taiwan are always wrapped with sealed plastic bags in order to be cooked in boiled water without making the pots nasty. Not only can this packaging method save time in the kitchen, but also increase the portability of the food itself. Consequently, the buyers can carry them without additional containers. In conclusion, though ready-to-eat meals are often criticised for being over-seasoned and over-packaging during their production, the efficiency and the portability of these products can provide for consumers are unavoidable. Those people who are suffering from working overtime might find them quite beneficial. In this way, I believe their advantages outweigh the disadvantages.