Some people think they have done all they should do to society by paying taxes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I disagree with this point of view since citizens also need to take social responsibilities through other aspects. It is undeniable that individuals have contributed a lot to society by paying taxes. To begin with, revenue is a huge proportion of the government’s investment in scientific research and the education systems which accelerates the development of all walks of life and leads human society to prosperity. Apart from that, almost every taxpayer has already been engaged in the protection of the natural environment, since a part of tax revenue is spent on surmounting some thorny issues, like environmental contamination. Nevertheless, it is far from enough that people merely pay taxes to the government as they are supposed to shoulder more social responsibilities. Despite all the efforts that the government has already made, parental education is undoubtedly irreplaceable. Each parent has the duty to educate their offspring well. Additionally, environmental protection is an arduous but meaningful way which requires a national or even worldwide joint effort. People need to consciously participate in this process, not only to preserve the ecosystem but to make sure they can have a pleasant living environment. In conclusion, I am against the opinion that people can accomplish all of their missions through taxation. Individual endeavours are as significant as what government can do on behalf of us ordinary people.