In many parts of the world, there is continuous coverage of sport on television. Some people believe this discourages the young from taking part in any sport themselves. Discuss this view and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

These days, you can watch every sport that you like on television, such as basketball, golf and even motorsports. It is very useful having the opportunity to watch all these with only one item, but some people think that this is bad, especially for teens who probably spend more time on the monitor instead of playing outside. In this essay, I will discuss this main point of view and I will explain why I strongly disagree with it. Is it true that some sports programs on television can discourage the youth to decide on a dynamic activity to enjoy? Some people believe that this is the reality, probably because it is common knowledge that staying on the couch in front of a screen does not represent the best way to a healthy life. For a parent having overweight children is one of the biggest fears, it is crucial to encourage adolescents to play something because they can avoid long-term diseases in their heart for example, and it is also significant in terms of self-confidence, one of the major difficult aspects for a teen. On the other hand, I strongly believe that is not always true that sports programs on television are so bad, especially if we consider the young part of the population who instead of negative influence would desire to be part of a soccer team and share amazing moments with friends, just as their favourites players. For example, my brother didn’t appreciate F1 races, but after watching four races he asks some friends to go on a go-kart circuit on Saturday night. To conclude, it is not true that sports programs have this bad influence on people, but would encourage them to stay healthy.