It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Taking risks is an essential part of people’s lives, both personally and professionally. As with all the other things in this world, taking risks has its own positive and negative outcomes. Nevertheless, I think the positive effects that it brings, such as building resilience and creating more opportunities, will always outweigh the main adverse outcome of having feelings of uncertainty. As people or companies take more risks, many doors of bigger opportunities will eventually present themselves to them. There would not be Apple if Steve Jobs had not risked his college degree and expectedly bright career options to fully commit his time and efforts to build the company amazingly from scratch, resulting in many big investment options. Using the same example, one of the reasons Apple is considered one of the biggest and the most influential tech companies in the world is because the company has gone through so many failures, thus becoming more resilient among other tech groups. However, since taking risks means doing or deciding on things without knowing what the results would be, this act could harbour feelings of uncertainty, especially in people who are just starting out on their business. Moreover, according to a previous study in 2022, if this feeling goes unnoticed for long enough, it could develop into a more severe degree of psychological issues, such as depression or anxiety disorder. In conclusion, I personally think that for the opportunities and the increase in resiliency that it brings, the benefits of taking risks clearly outweigh the negative effects. However, people should be encouraged to take calculated risks instead of uncoordinated ones to decrease the degree of uncertainty that comes after.