Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, along with the thriving development of advanced technology, every people possesses mobile devices such as smartphones or tablets, and children are no exception. So it is likely for them to stick their eyes to the screen for many hours which can severely affect the well-being of children physically and mentally. In my opinion, this tendency is a bit of a negative development. On the one hand, it is undeniable that technology has become more enhanced and accessible to everyone. In addition, there are many features integrating these mobile devices, especially the Internet - the reason why children spend hours on smartphones. To make it clearer, children are easily distracted and have a sense of exploration and the Internet is full of diverse content that can amuse them. For instance, many kids have a tendency to love playing video games and watching cartoon series, which are easily accessed with just a smartphone with wifi connection. Hence, they are likely to be addicted to smartphones because these devices contain a world of entertainment. On the other hand, spending hours on smartphones and tablets can cause many issues to children's health. Since they are addicted to colourful and joyful games on smartphones, their eyes will be detrimentally affected by high energy visible - a light released by most gadgets. As a result, the majority of primary students nowadays have to wear glasses because of short-eye-sighted conditions. Furthermore, they may develop many mental problems not only because of the toxic content on social media but also internal factors. For example, children ’s childhood will not be fulfilled because they rather spend most of their time on video games than playing football with their peers. Consequently, autism and childhood depression are inevitable. In conclusion, I strongly believe that children have a tendency to stick to the screen because of the fantastic entertainment it offers. Significantly, their mind and physical well-being will be severely demolished due to unpleasant parts of the social platforms.