A major section of society is now preferring to share their credentials in order to operate various applications of techno-firms. This essay believes that the demerits totally overlook the merits as this has led to cyber-crimes and online theft cases.

A major section of society is now preferring to share their credentials in order to operate various applications of techno-firms. This essay believes that the demerits totally overlook the merits as this has led to cyber-crimes and online theft cases. The fundamental benefit of this ongoing trend is a better user experience, along with the saving of time. If a person wants to buy a particular handheld device or some clothing, he or she would get everything in a single software, easing the life of the customers. Moreover, retrieving the details of previous school friends has also become a lot easier with the help of suggested friend options in different apps. For instance, more than 50% of people, all across the globe, find old friends through Facebook today. However, on the contrary, there are numerous disadvantages, and the most serious one is the increasing number of computer-oriented crimes. People are hacking the social media pages of their enemies and posting vulgar images on them, which is not only spoiling the reputation of these innocent people but also devastating their mental health. An article published in - ‘The Times’ - stated that the cases related to cyberbullying have been rising by 20% annually, since 2015 in the UK. In addition to this, there are misleading pop-ups and advertisements visible on every page a person visits. If a person has searched for a jacket by ONLY, he or she will be getting alerts related to this on every page they visit. Are these the only drawbacks associated with this? Certainly not, there are many more. Giving permissions for every other question asked on apps has deliberately affected our safety, and also given rise to thefts in online banking. Numerous people have lost money due to less security of online banking systems and a dearth of awareness about how to operate banking applications and online services. In conclusion, although these software applications are making the life of humans comfortable and relaxed, the negatives of escalating crimes such as cyberbullying, hacking, and theft cannot be neglected at all.