Water scarcity is a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of this?And what solutions can be done by individuals and the government?

Many regions around the world are confronted with water shortages. I believe both nature and human activities bear the responsibility for this, but we can also take steps to alleviate the problem with the joint efforts of humankind. Several underlying reasons account for the worldwide shortage of water. Uneven freshwater distribution in countries with different locations and climates is a determinant of water scarcity in nature. Freshwater from river systems is not found in coastal or arid regions where seawater rich in salt requires purification or, in the other case, the annual precipitation is far below the global average. Other than environmental factors, multiple booming industries have detrimental effects on water resources due to their ever-increasing high demand for it. For instance, nuclear power plants that France relies on for energy generation require millions of tons of water per year as a means of circulation cooling, and the figure is still hovering at a high level. The consequent pollution is another issue which renders valuable resources useless sewage. Reports around the world have revealed the evil acts of countless enterprises and heavy industries, including oil spills and nuclear leakage, contaminating water that could have been used for agriculture and drinking. There are several solutions to the issues above. In the aforementioned areas, the shortage of water is largely determined by their geographical location, therefore, a possible solution to this problem would be to supply water resources by introducing them through canals or pipes from regions with abundant storage from rainfall, which involves the collaboration between governments. When it comes to individual contribution, residents in such places are also supposed to lead a simple lifestyle and avoid the excessive use of water on a daily basis. As for large-scale pollution, it can only be curbed by establishing regulations on sewage disposal and enforcing supervision on organizations so as to deter them from doing so as well as to allow the to be aware of the dire consequences brought about by leaking contaminated water. In summary, both natural and anthropogenic factors contribute to the water scarcity that all human beings are facing. However, as long as we take measures towards conservation with joint collaboration, the problem could at least be alleviated to some extent.