Many countries aim to improve their living standard by economic development but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages.

Many governments try to focus on the economic development of their countries. Some argue that it is beneficial, however, some also believe that it is deteriorating for social values of a nation. While I agree that this could lead to some undesirable effects, the upside impacts of it far outweigh the downsides. First, a shortcoming that may occur to this practice is that it promotes individualism and dwindle the social cohesion in society. The exact evidence for this is how workers in a business are not close to each other and consider themselves colleagues rather than friends. In this situation we can see the bond among people in business settings is becoming more decreasing. Second, society is more materialistic and may see happiness can be obtained only through money. In family cases, some individuals now prefer to work at weekends to gain more capital rather than stay at their home to have more time with their family. This illustration depicts how people now value money more than their time with family. However, from the perspective of macro development, this means is beneficial not only for the economic sector but for other sectors as well. Health and defence are examples of sectors that have a direct correlation with finance because they needed a considerable budget to improve their quality. The more money, the better the quality of the facilities, and the better the life condition that people have in that country. Additionally, this measure could provide a better education for people. When there is a vast budget to allocate because of the economic level, education must be better as well since it can provide many things such as teachers' salaries and learning media. All in all, although this practice could trigger some problems in social relations among the society, its benefits for the country are more desirable.