More and more people are stressed today than ever before. What are the causes of this stress? Can you suggest some possible solutions?

As pleasant as life can be, it can also become extremely challenging at times. In this essay, I will examine the key reasons behind the increasing number of people going through a stressful life these days and propose some ways to alleviate them. There are basically two factors that contribute towards higher levels of stress that people nowadays have to go through. Firstly, many people tend to compete against each other to be the richest amongst their peers with the sole purpose of being perceived to be superior. To increase their social class, they work so hard that they often end up not cherishing little things that life has to offer or barely have enough time to take good care of themselves, both physically and mentally. It is this poor work- life balance that often leaves them feeling overwhelmed and stressed. Secondly, as modern technology becomes increasingly sophisticated, people generally do not meet others face-to-face as frequently as they used to. In fact, the need to meet others in person regularly has been eliminated in the face of covid-19 pandemic. This lack of direct or genuine interaction with human beings can sometimes lead to people feeling isolated and depressed since humans are social beings by their very nature. Despite the seemingly inevitable causes of stress, there are two ways that can be taken to help people achieve peace of mind. Firstly, people need to be aware that their life is not about pleasing others, but rather doing things that truly make them fulfilled regardless of how others perceive them. In other words, they must learn not to attribute their happiness to external factors such as social class, and although this is easier said than done, they can gradually form a habit of creating their own inner peace to have a stress-free life. Furthermore, people need to regularly engage in conversation that involves human touch so that their support system can get stronger. To illustrate, talking directly with their loved ones or close friends, they can open up more and share personal stories that they might not otherwise tell in online communication. This quality-time helps them feel a greater sense of belonging, and they are more likely to provide emotional support for anyone in their circle who may be going through tough times. In conclusion, stress is commonly caused by caring too much about others ’ opinions and not having enough ‘real’ interaction with others. Given these causes, the solutions to this problem are two-fold: to focus more on one’s own happiness and to create stronger bonds with others through regular face-to-face interaction.