Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People hold distinctive opinions regarding a debate which is linked to whether the loss of specific kinds of plants and animals is the main environmental problem or not. Some people think that today, the most important environmental problem is the loss of particular species of plants and animals, while others believe that the contemporary world has more crucial environmental problems. The major reason why some people are in favour of the loss of particular species of plants and animals is that animals and plants have many positive effects on nature and people. Thanks to plants, people and animals can breathe clean air because plants produce oxygen to breathe fresh air. However, many kinds of plants are on the verge of extinction due to many reasons such as overpopulation, construction of new buildings and shopping malls, fires and so on. Therefore, the rate of oxygen in the air is decreasing drastically. Moreover, an increasing percentage of carbon dioxide causes bad air quality and short and long-term exposure to air pollution can give rise to a wide range of diseases. In contrast to the argument clarified above, there is also a significant argument by the opponents who believe there are more important environmental problems. The globalization of the world brings many threats to the lives of people. For instance, climate change and pollution are equally important environmental problems because these have negative effects on all kinds of living creatures. In the light of this reality, personal actions and policy changes are required to tackle environmental issues. To sum up, having elucidated both perspectives, I think it can be concluded that ignoring the vital points claimed by any of the two sides above would result in undesirable circumstances.