Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Local food is talked about a lot by those trying to be environmentally sustainable. Granted, a country should try to produce more local food as long as they are vigilant enough about the possible negative impact. The domestic food supply is more stable. Admittedly, different locations specialize in growing certain types of products based on their climate and weather, so overseas food could provide residents with more choices. However, this could also increase the importers’ dependency on international markets, risking mass starvation in case trade friction or conflict occurs between nations, especially for those underprivileged areas. Eating local food is also eating seasonally. Crops grown locally are picked at their peak of ripeness rather than being harvested early in order to be shipped and distributed to local retail stores, which makes the crops full of flavour and prevents the nutrient content to deteriorate. In addition, fresh local produce is less exposed to harmful chemicals such as ripening agents, wax coatings and other preservatives because there is no need to do so. Most importantly, locally grown food is more environmentally friendly, since overseas transportation leaves a considerably large carbon footprint. Still, it is worth noting that preference for local produce might encourage extensive farming, which means using more land to produce a given amount of food, calling for sound planning and stronger administration. In conclusion, local farm produce comprises a more stable food supply, provides nutrients with tasty flavour and helps reduces the consumption of fossil fuels, and should be encouraged with planning in advance and regulation in process.