“What is more important: financial well-being or pursuing your passion?”

Thinking about their future, people are often faced with a choice between financial well-being and following their passion. I think everyone has had conversation in her or his head about whether he or she should do something that is aligned with his or her passion or be realistic and find a well-paid job to have a better chance of success in the future. Let’s figure out which camp is right. (Spoiler: none of them!) Have you ever heard people saying something like: “Following your passion is the secret of success”? However, this statement is only partially true. Dictionary defines passion as ‘a strong feeling of enthusiasm or excitement for something or about doing something’. Firstly, this definition shows that being passionate about something does not mean to be good at it. A person needs time to perfect their skills and get more knowledge before becoming good enough to be able to raise money in their passion ’s field. Secondly, the passion can be changed. So it is reasonable to try different things before making a hasty decision and committing your life to something that soon ceases to be interesting. Finally, people are capable of having no passion, which is also normal. Therefore, taking into account the above-mentioned disadvantages, other part of people advise to find a job that can at least ensure your financial well-being. This advice is also not a good one. Financial well-being is ‘a state when a person is able to fully meet their current and ongoing financial obligation and feel secure in its financial future and is able to make choices that allow them to enjoy life ’. It seems that this definition actually separates work and life. However, the average person who works eight hours a day and five days a week does not have much time to enjoy life outside of work. Moreover, sometimes the need to pay the bills forces people to do something that do not make them happy. In this case, the job can solve financial issues, but at the same time increases anxiety and stress. So, I think it is important to deepen the last part of the definition by mentioning the importance of enjoying life while working. To sum up, there is really no choice between financial well-being and the pursuit of passion. I believe that it is more important to create a professional career based on personal interests, abilities and skills. Once you understand yourself, it is always possible to find a way to raise money whether through a job, or a business.