Some people say that students who achieve the highest scores in their exams should be rewarded. Others say that those who show progress should be rewarded instead. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Learning is a never-ending process, and it is important to reward students on a certain occasion in order to increase their motivation. Some people believe that top-performing students should be praised while others claim that rewards should be given to those who show obvious improvement. This essay will discuss both sides of view, although I firmly believe that both categories of schoolchildren deserve recognition for their effort. On the one hand, the current academic environment is competitive and therefore it is undoubted that individuals put in a great amount of work in order to maintain good grades. Top students usually dedicate their leisure time to preparing lessons and revising numerous materials that have been taught instead of taking a rest or spending time with their friends. This type of routine needs a lot of energy and is sometimes a bit demanding. It is essential to recognize and appreciate their hard work to increase their motivation as well as encourage them to persevere in monotonous schoolwork. On the other hand, being the best is not easy. Although many pupils devote their hobbies and social life to revision, not all of them are top performing, even when they have made big improvements. They are still deserved to be acknowledged as learning is not a competition but self-enhancement. Rewards should be given to learners with obvious improvement which not only provides affirmation of their endeavours but also increase enthusiasm for exploring their own talent. In conclusion, two notions of rewarding target different students. Personally, whether well-performed students or someone, who keeps making progress, should be praised and given a prize.