"Prevention is better than cure". Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree ?

In today's society, there are various methods available, which help in disease prevention. Even if these are followed, there is no guarantee that a person would be healthy whatsoever. Therefore, I believe that learning more about health maladies and finding cures for them, is the way to go. Since the birth of modern medical science, we have been able to find numerous sicknesses which could affect humankind. Some of these could be easily prevented by following a certain routine. One such example is to avoid smoking to keep the lungs illness-free. Another example would be to get vaccinated against a certain virus. However, in addition, there are diseases which happen even if you take the utmost care. To makes things even more difficult, it is possible for one to get a disease without being attacked by any virus or bacteria. Without any investigation, it will be very difficult to treat these. On the other hand, all the preventive methods are a result of various research and studies. Most of the techniques used to avert diseases were at one point discovered, while experiments were being conducted. If there are no funds provided for such studies, it would be hard to come up with strategies to prevent these in the future. In conclusion, even though prevention is an essential aspect of healthcare, Researching and treating can be a better investment in some cases. The development of new treatments, cost-effectiveness, and potential for cross-disease applications are some of the reasons why investigating in depth can be a better approach. Thus, it is essential to strike a balance between prevention, research, and treatment, to provide the best care possible to patients.