Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicine and treatment instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a Positive or a negative development?

Health is one of the major concerns of everybody living in this world. Due to several reasons, the number of diseases has increased recently and patients sometimes seek cures in an alternative way rather than visiting their physicians. I believe that this trend will fuel their health-related problems more of the time than resolve them. At the outset, nowadays, patients are expecting a rapid recovery from their illness. Therefore, they find a shortcut for a quick response from treatments. This kind of malpractice is encouraged by some people in society. Some people post and share messages on social media such as Facebook and youtube, without knowing the reality which sometimes misleads the patients to take inappropriate treatment. Usually, doctors prescribe well-studied medicines in clinical practice with the knowledge of side effects and contraindications. In contrast, when the public takes native drugs, they can harm themself as those herbals are not studied properly. In some instances, wild herbals can damage vital organs such as kidneys or the liver. Moreover, when the patients are bypassing their physicians, they lose the follow-up regularly which is mandatory for many life-threatening chronic illnesses such as diabetes, heart disease and cancer. However, if any patient is not satisfied with the management of a particular doctor, it is no harm in taking a second opinion from another expert from the same field. For example, when a patient needs any special procedure like dialysis, he can she can consult another nephrologist rather than going for non evidenced treatments. In conclusion, visiting the usual clinic will be helpful for patients instead of seeking alternative treatment options.