ln many parts of the world, children are given more freedom than in lhe past. ls this a positive or o negative development?

It has been seen that nowadays parents tend to give more independence to their children than they used to give them in the past. Today's adults when compare their childhood with their children feel that the latter get more freedom than what they used to have. I personally believe that it is certainly a positive development, although it has some shortcomings too. I shall discuss this in the next paragraphs. To begin with, there are many advantages of giving freedom to children. Juveniles who get this opportunity of enjoying freedom become more responsible in their lives. Consequently,these offspring become mature, independent and adventurous adults which helps in building a strong society. They become aware of everything happening around them. They do not hesitate to drive themselves away from the ill practices of society. For instance, in the past, the groom's family demands dowry in the marriage and the groom did not have any courage to stand against their guardians. Even, he stood with his family because it was considered customary. However, today's young generation wants dowry-free marriage and takes a stand against all the odds. Thus, this freedom aids in producing sensible beings. Furthermore, they have access to the internet today by which they can get an ocean of information on any topic. They are aware of many things which their parents and grandparents do not know. In the past, parents used to compel their children to take medical or non-medical. Now, youth choose their stream themselves, even they are taking those career options of which people have not heard of before. For instance, computer animation, web designing etc. Thus, they are becoming more confident, which is the key to success. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks to this freedom also. Sometimes, inexperienced children indulge in such activities which can prove detrimental to them. Parents should look into the content their children are watching on youtube as there is a variety of things on the internet because of this they can do wrong tasks which can affect them physically as well as mentally. To illustrate this, teenagers are addicted to phones. They spend whole days texting their friends which hampers their studies too. In summation, the positive aspects of the freedom given to children outweigh the negative points as it makes them more independent and confident.