The Internet has changed the way we interact with each other now compared to in the past. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

As technology has advanced and the Internet has grown to become a part of our everyday lives, these elevate the convenience of communication and alter the way people interact with each other. This essay will outline what I consider to be the potential advantages of such a phenomenon, as well as some of the negative outcomes that I feel are likely to occur. In terms of the benefits, there are two clear ones. The first is that online platforms have strengthened the relationship in which individuals can now stay connected and keep in touch no matter where they are in the world. We can just simply have a video call with someone who lives in a different part of the continent. Clearly, this used to be impossible in the past. Another is the lower costs of communication. In previous times, for instance, an in-person meeting was the only choice to arrange a business discussion where this was not only time-consuming but also consumed a lot of resources, while nowadays there are several online applications that support doing so even free of charge. There are, however, some possible drawbacks of this advancement. One is the feeling of distance from others. A virtual connection cannot provide fulfilment for some people. For example, those older generations who are still familiar with offline activities may feel more grateful and appreciated if their children visit them physically. The further issue is that the relationship is less bonded because we do not generally have a serious exchange through remote channels, leading text to be short and simple. As such, a deep conversation is unlikely to occur. In conclusion, although the Internet makes our lives much easier, some people were left behind. As a contradiction of sorts, it is the hardship that ultimately makes the involvement of computerised society more advantageous than this disadvantageous.