Discuss the main arguments for this statement and give your opinion Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences.Others,however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

There is a strong feeling that there are better solutions to wrongdoings.Despite this, long-term imprisonment has always been thought to be the best.Too much stay in prison can lead to the hardening of criminals. Additionally,I think educating the public against crime and creating job opportunities can be a long-term solution for society. Overstaying in prison can make inmates harden.Inside correction,facilities all folks of all kinds of crimes are locked together. While some might have committed very petty crimes,they end up sharing cells with hardcore criminals like murderers.Locking them together for a long period of time they may end up being absorbed and by the time they come out,the small cases offenders would be even more daring. Moreover,it will be quite unfair to some families when their breadwinner is subjected to a correction center for a long time. For instance, according to the Guardian,10% of prisoners in jail for more than 20 years are not likely to change and are often thinking of a breakaway plan. Education the public and creating job opportunities.Creating awareness and discouraging communities against crime would go a long way in creating a safe society.The government spends a lot on running prisons and this can be reduced by educating the people and the money channelled elsewhere. Furthermore,the youth should be given job opportunities to keep them busy. This will also enable them to fend for themselves and they don't have to engage in theft to get capital.A prime example,as reported by the sun,5% of young people who come from families that live below the poverty line are at risk of joining gangs. To sum up,the risk and cost of drawbacks locking law offenders for a long time are quite costly. Therefore,I think society should embrace educating its population against crime and creating more workspaces,especially for the younger generation.