Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

It is undeniable how social marketing is playing a vital role in our lives nowadays. There is a continuous argument on this phenomenon, some people find it beneficial and others disagree. In my opinion, the benefits that advertisements bring to us outweigh the disadvantages, as will be discussed. On the first hand, individuals who oppose the idea of excessive advertising are convinced that it urges them to buy things that are not needed. To put it another way, due to the sophisticated internet technologies, there are always competitions between giant platforms to dominate the market. For instance, Enterprises like Google, Facebook and Instagram, mainly depend on intelligent algorithms to target customers based on their locations, ages and most importantly, their interests. People would unintentionally be introduced to goods that they have not even searched for, just because they have shown earlier interest in them while they were scrolling down their social media or just having phone conversations with friends. Even if they are not financially ready to purchase, they find tempting sale discounts that cannot be missed. On the other hand, another party think that the current development in advertisement techniques has a positive impact on how we live today. That is to say, it gives us the opportunity to effortlessly look for what we need in the comfort of our place. Moreover, we are offered a plentiful of new innovations that can improve our life. For example, kitchen appliances such as Air Fryers have been recently one of the best-selling items by housewives as it is healthier and easier. Furthermore, as every provider competes with other peers to showcase their products and gain new customers, there are various offers and promotions that would not be available if online marketing was not there. To conclude, there are some drawbacks to the advertisement that can detrimentally affect our lifestyle. However, I believe that the benefit that it brings to us is overcoming the disadvantages.