In some countries, more and more parents begin to teach their children at home rather than send them to school, . Do the advantages of the trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In certain nations, an increasing number of parents are opting to educate their children at home instead of sending them to school. While this can lead to increased bonding, I believe that the drawbacks of this trend prevail over the aforementioned benefit, as the numerous distractions and lack of proper competition at home will not allow the kids to learn well. There are several drawbacks to homeschooling. Firstly, homes are not designed for learning. This is because the primary reason for setting up a home is comfort, consequently, kids will have several distractions when they opt to be schooled at home. Such distractions range from televisions, the aroma of a favourite meal being prepared in the kitchen, and the noise from neighbours. For example, statistics show that children hardly learn for more than an hour at a stretch at home due to interruptions around the house. Also, youngsters learn more when they interact and compete with their equals, an arrangement that is lacking when they are taught at home by their fathers or mothers. I believe that these drawbacks significantly outweigh any perceived merits of homeschooling. Nevertheless, there are also some advantages to studying at home. By opting to teach their kids at home, parents can develop an increased bonding with them. As a result, they get to understand them better and are able to fully help them develop into better adults.To illustrate, a study carried out by the Guidance and Counselling Unit at the University Of Lagos Nigeria in 2019, showed that a significant majority of the well-behaved first-year students had some form of homeschooling. However, I am of the opinion that these benefits do not make learning at home better than in school. In conclusion, it is true that homeschooling can enhance the love between parents and their children. However, I believe that the drawbacks of a poor learning environment and lack of adequate competition outweigh the mentioned merit. © Beautiful essay written by Kachi @IELTSmaterials_N1