Many people believe that cycling is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport. However, it is still unpopular in many countries. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among wider population?

Most people think that riding a bicycle is a beneficial transport for health and environment friendly. On the contrary, this type of method still has fewer people to use in many countries. In this essay, I will give some reasons and several solutions to encourage citizens to use bicycles for travelling and commuting. To begin, the main reason that most people prefer to avoid riding bikes as a transport tool is there is less and inadequate infrastructure for riding. Take Taiwan for an example; it is hazardous to ride during rush hour on roads filled with many cars, buses, and motorcycles. If the government plans bicycle-only routes, the willingness of citizens to commute by bicycle will be significantly improved. Another reason some humans want to avoid using bikes for travelling and commuting is the weather. Especially in tropical countries, the weather could be more unstable, and it rains a lot, greatly reducing the idea of people enjoying cycling. On the other hand, the authority still has some beneficial policies that can encourage the use of bicycles among the broader population. For instance, Taiwan has a bicycle-sharing system in crowded places such as transportation hubs or scenic spots which can raise the willingness of people to travel by cycling. Moreover, due to government subsidies and promotions, students and office workers can use public bicycles for free. These methods make cycling become a famous transport soon after. In conclusion, although this mode of transport is difficult to promote in everyone's lives, the authority should promote this concept by solving traffic safety problems and making it common in the community because cycling is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport and the world.