Nowadays, more and more people have access to the Internet. But constant availability of any information worsens people’s memory and critical thinking skills. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Living in the period of digitalisation and technologies, when all information is available and the process of searching for some particular response is simple, there is often argued that unlimited access to knowledge is detrimental for development of individuals. In my opinion, it is indeed harmful to humans' intellectual development, in spite of its huge contribution to society's evolution. In the beginning, the possibility of looking for all kind of information on the internet, make, subconsciously, memorizing some information pointless for our brain. It is demonstrated that people are used to forgetting all the information that is easy to find online, making a difference not just in our way of thinking, but also in brain structure, modifying forever the way people perceive the world. For instance, there is a term, the Google effect, which is used for describing the phenomenon of forgetting information that is easy to google. Furthermore, As a consequence of the amount and diversity of content found on websites, such as online calculators or essay and note makers, a lot of young people lose their motivation and determination of learning science and making some research by themself. Therefore, critical thinking and problem-solving skills are harmed and not developed enough for proper development. For example, the last year I used to help students with middle school exam preparation, and while I was explaining some elementary operations with exponents, a girl said something that shocked me. She said to me that she didn't learn fundamental formulas, as she found this activity pointless, since all the calculus could be done on the internet. To sum up, the harmful effect of the internet, besides its numerous advantages, is undoubted. It affects not just the attitude to studies teenagers, as a result of the huge amount of data available, the accessibility changes the human brain anatomically. However, the variety of information online has a lot of benefits for contemporary people, if they maintain the balance and don't deny the importance of training memory and critical thinking, as it is paramount for individuals' mental health.