Many people believe that cycling is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport.However, it is still unpopular in many countries. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of the bicycle among wider population?

Cycling is one of the most popular healthy activities. Even though some countries don't encourage people to do it due to certain reasons which will be analysed in this essay. First, most of the cities don't have proper cycling roads, which makes it more dangerous. Lots of folks are not able to cycle due to the lack of bicycle lanes on the road and the risk of accidents. What's,more not everyone is able to afford to buy a bike. Another reason for that is human's laziness. In today's chaotic world, most people prefer to be more comfortable and use the car or any other more convenient type of transport. Not everybody is aware of the positive side of cycling, which is for instance better heart circulation. Furthermore, the population don't understand that using public transport has a negative effect on our environment. To encourage everyone to use bikes, the government should invest in building cycling lanes around the cities. Financial help to buy a new bike, would be also highly appropriate within the wider population. I believe that children are the main key and they should be the ones who are aware of all the positive aspects of using bikes. Schools should start delivering correct knowledge about the negative impact of CO2 emissions on our planet. Knowing more details and being aware of the problem since childhood makes people more think about that and try to find a solution. Overall, the bicycle is not popular in all cities, due to a lack of knowledge and financial aspect. The government should be more involved in convincing everyone to use bikes, starting with educating children.