Many people believe that cycling is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport.However, it is still unpopular in many countries. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of the bicycle among wider population?

In recent decades, there has been a rising trend of using bicycles as a mode of transport. Also, studies have shown its positive impact on a rider's health and the environment. However, it is still not a popular transportation mode in many countries. This essay will discuss the reasons and some possible solutions to promote this activity. There are mainly two reasons behind the lesser adoption of bicycling in some nations. Firstly, it is not suitable for the residents of large cities. Riding a cycle in these areas may waste a lot of time and energy. For instance, the residents of Hong Kong prefer personal vehicles to save travel time. Secondly, a lack of health awareness makes individuals choose other modes of transport. This has been seen that many people are too lazy to change their lifestyles. And, this has been causing a rise in cardiovascular diseases and environmental pollution. To solve the issue, we need to work on two fronts. Firstly, governments must invest in awareness campaigns to generate awareness about its benefits. For instance, the 'Bike project' in India has reported a reduction in fat percentage among monthly subscribers. Secondly, celebrities should be incorporated to promote this activity. People will follow their favourite celebrities, and this will promote bicycling. To conclude, there is a need to spread this activity as it is beneficial for our health and the environment. The major reasons behind its less adoption are the size of the large cities and lower awareness levels. Government and celebrities can work together to promote this activity.