In many countries women are allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs during the first months after the birth of their baby. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Giving female employees maternity leave is a common practice all over the world. From time to time, people argue about whether this does more good or harm. In my opinion, the maternity leave system does more good than harm. On the one hand, the maternity leave system does have negative effects on enterprises and women. From the former point of view, maternity leave will affect the efficiency of enterprises and institutions. During maternity leave, because of the need to take care of children and protect their own rest, women can not work efficiently, even if someone else to take over the work. Besides, if companies have to give maternity leave to women, it will lead to more gender discrimination against women in the job market. HR of the company will consider hiring more men to avoid the efficiency problems mentioned above. On the other hand, there are undoubtedly huge benefits to giving employees maternity leave. First, women can get better rest and recovery. From pregnancy to birth, the whole process can be laborious and even dangerous. Therefore, women should have a few months to recover after giving birth rather than going back to work quickly. Secondly, the maternity leave system brings the best care to the newborn. Breast feeding has been shown to be the best thing for the baby's health. Also, mothers are more patient and pay more attention to their children than any other family members or babysitters, which ensures the healthy growth of children. In my opinion, the maternity leave system brings more benefits, because the negative effects mentioned above can be effectively solved and avoided. Specifically, the government can make laws and regulations to avoid discrimination in employment and modern communication tools can better solve the problem of job handover during maternity leave. Therefore, I firmly believe that maternity leave brings more positive effects.