Some experts believe that it it better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advaantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Whether kids should be taught a new language early in their academic life has always been a debatable topic. Even though there are some drawbacks, I strongly believe there are more benefits when children learn foreign languages in elementary school. In my opinion, learning a new language at a young age has more benefits than drawbacks. Primary school children are in their early stage of brain development. During this stage, their mind has better capabilities to grasp new ideas and new languages. Learning a new language can be very easy for kids at this age if this is introduced to them in the right way. For instance, studies have shown that children below 7 years have up to 80% faster learning abilities for new skills and techniques. Hence, more focus should be given to making their learning experience more interactive and fun oriented. Learning a new way to express themselves can open new job opportunities when the kids grow up. Due to the advancements in communication, this world has become a global village and people are exposed to foreigners more often. Knowing the accent that their co-workers speak can be of great benefit to improve their working experience. The main reason why some people hold the notion that learning a foreign accent in the primary institute is not a great idea is that, they think it can be an additional burden on children.These children may even become reluctant to learn other subjects as well if they are over-stressed. Children at this age should be spending more time playing rather than struggling to learn a new language. In conclusion, even though there are some pros and cons of teaching a foreign language early in schools, there are more benefits to children when they grow in their careers. Hence, great caution has to be made by schools to ensure new languages are taught to kids in a way that they enjoy learning.