Some people say that school should reward students who show the best academic results, while other believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Providing students with incentives is bound to produce results but the question is whether our pedagogical approach should emphasize improvements or absolute success. We could reward those who are at the top of the class already or those who are slowly trying to make their way there. This essay will focus on the pros and cons of both points. Let us first take a look at the former option which is rewarding the position holders. By enriching students that are already at the top, we at the very least ensure that they maintain their academic performance and that others are urged to fill their positions to receive the reward. However, the main disadvantage is that it would mean that those that are at the bottom have no reason to try better because for them to get to the top positions is like climbing a steep mountain which they probably wouldn't even bother to do. Furthermore, it's not reasonable to expect this out of them. Now on the other hand, if we were to push students to not focus on the top but instead reward their every single step in climbing that mountain, that will have a positive impact on their mental psych and reduce their stress. Sometimes stress among students can have detrimental consequences hence we should try to protect our pupils mentally too. This approach ensures that everyone gives their best instead of just a select few. I personally see no downside or drawback to this path. In conclusion, I think keeping everyone on equal footing meaning rewarding students simply for trying their best is the better approach however both methods do have their merits.