Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The development of the market and globalization has made it easier for people to trade and share resources, yet some oppose these ideas, proposing that countries should keep to themselves. I highly disagree, as it has been made apparent that without this practice several issues could occur. One of the main reasons why I agree is directly connected to the supply of resources, especially food, a single nation can produce. The ability of an isolated country to feed its own population is often limited. Thus, it could lead to insufficient supply. As a result of this, devastating consequences such as poverty, hunger and an economic crash could appear. For instance, recent research by the University of Minsk has found that 65% of overpopulated countries highly depend on importing and exporting for both economical and social reasons. Second of all, the shortage of imported goods could lead to health-related issues due to the fact that a great number of countries lack geographically adequate land to produce certain goods. Consequently, a varied diet provides essential nutrients. As a result of this, numerous health concerns might occur, as a varied range of products is difficult to obtain with insufficient external resources. One such example is Norway, which imports almost half of all its products due to inadequate weather conditions while leading in public health in Europe. To conclude, I think that we should continue to share and trade globally, as isolating is commonly not only met with a shortage of supply but also lowered standard of living.