Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case?Do you think thi is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, technology plays an essential role in our life. All people including children are affected by such a global change. However, children specifically are attached to their smartphones and ipads which is currently becoming an issue to argue about. Thus, this essay will discuss how this phenomenon is happening and why I believe that it is considered a negative development in the child's life. The main reason that causes children to spend a long time on their devices is the fact that they owned one since a young age. In fact, almost all parents are influenced by the public opinion of others in social media and the society around them agreeing that a child must own an iPad or a phone. Therefore, as toddlers get used to having fun and gaining entertainment through electronics they get strongly attached to them. For instance, a young relative of mine can not enjoy his day and find it impossible to be happy without his iPad, playing games and watching Youtube. However, this case actually affects the kids negatively and greatly. By spending hours on their devices, young students can not follow well with their studies and homework. Furthermore, it can significantly change their personalities transforming them from their socially active natures into introverts who prefer to stay at home and neglect their social life. Additionally, studies have shown that constant exposure to the blue screens of smartphones and electronic devices causes brain cell deficiency in a child's brain which decreases and slows down his/her attention and intelligence. This statement suggests the dangers of letting little kids keep using their smartphones and ipads without proper guidance from adults. In short, despite the development of electronic devices which have a great contribution to our lives, children should not own one unless they are old enough and supervised by their parents. Thus, the reality is that allowing them to have one from a young age will result in bad outcomes in many aspects.