Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female student in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Gender injustice is a song as old as time and it can be found in various fields of life including education. There has been debate regarding the matter of whether or not there should be equal reserved seats for both males and females in any educational institution. This essay discusses both pros and cons of this rule. First of all, there is no doubt that measures should be taken to provide justice and rights for women. For a society to function, all its citizens regardless of gender should be given equal opportunities in every occupation. Sadly, that is not the case. For instance, according to research and surveys, most industries are dominated by males, also the rate of illiteracy and unemployment is higher among women. Therefore, if women are granted more opportunities to receive proper education, it will only benefit the government and its system as a whole. Now on the other side, this absolutely doesn't mean that there should be gender-based strict rules regarding who gets into college. In this case, the drawback is that undeserving students could snatch the chance away from the gifted. Instead, it should be based on merit. For example, if there s only a single vacancy available in a university and there is a talented boy and an average girl, then we shouldn't just automatically hand the seat to a girl just to fill a quota and show off as being progressive. In conclusion, While encouragement and incentive should be given to girls to pursue education, it doesn't mean that it should be given freely. Therefore, I am not in favour of seats being classified by sex whilst ignoring excellence.