In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes? What are the solutions?

An increasing number of professional athletes are using performance-enhancing drugs that are illegal. This rise is because they get a competitive advantage against their opponents using such substances, and the leniency of countries allows this to happen. We can solve this by making laws stricter and teaching the public about the negative effects of such drugs on health. Firstly, the sportsmen who inject themselves with these substances have an advantage when they perform. This is because substances that improve performance have the capability of modifying hormones that are responsible for energy production; therefore, many people resort to them to win competitions. Secondly, governments are not serious about this issue. That is to say that they do not focus on illegal performance-enhancing medications as they do with other substances. For example, the UK law does not punish anabolic steroid users as it punishes narcotic abusers. This resulted in a surplus of steroid users in the past decade. To fix this, governments should make their policies stricter against these drug users. They can start by fining them or by having them do community service. If they are charged a huge fine, they are most likely to quit taking enhancement drugs. For example, certain states in the USA imposed rules against anabolic steroid users because of drug misuse. In addition, governments can educate people about the harmful effects of such drug usage. This is to say they can campaign or advertise about its detrimental effects on the human body. Consequently, many people will stay away from these harmful drugs. In conclusion, more people are using illegal performance drugs to have a better chance at winning. Additionally, governments are not strict with drug users. However, stricter laws and education about the harmful effects of such drugs can help combat the increase in banned substance use.