Organized tours to remote places and communities are increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for local people and the local environment?

Nowadays, some locations previously untouched by modern civilisations can even receive an overwhelming amount of tourists from all parts of the world. In my view, however, frequent visits to these places definitely have a detrimental influence on their ecology and culture. Some may argue that the influx of tourists produces massive revenue for indigenous people and the government along with other economic ripple effects and employment opportunities. By taking full advantage of their exotic culture and peculiar scenery, locals can foresee substantial amounts of profit brought about by thriving tourism, eventually contributing to the booming of the catering industry, hospitality and souvenir selling while earning a living. These industries in turn offer new positions and diversified career choices, so the lingering issue of unemployment can easily be resolved. Nevertheless, this view only emphasises short-term benefits and probably ignores the fact that developing an economy at the cost of over-exploiting tourist resources may well lead to irreversible damage to nature, and the funds for conservation can even offset the income generated. If areas vulnerable to human activities receive flocks of travellers, not only the demand for water and electricity rises dramatically for their daily use, but transportation will also bring forth negative impacts on the environment by emitting greenhouse gases. What is more, excessive human intervention in nature can shift the ecological structure permanently, destroying the habitats of wildlife and altering the behaviours and instincts of animals. For instance, in certain mountainous areas, monkeys have mastered the key to soliciting fruits from visitors, which concerns the local government and a large portion of its budget has been allocated for the conservation project. Moreover, local people tend to be confronted with encroachment on the tradition from mainstream cultures. As mentioned above, many of them cannot resist the temptation of income and turn to work for tourism, and this is under the influence of the more popular value system brought by travellers, including consumerism and utilitarianism, which is taking over the traditional and simple lifestyles of a nomadic tribe or an agricultural society. Even a sense of inferiority can be cultivated in the minds of the new generations, other than a loss of cultural identity and national pride. News has reported that Maoris in New Zealand no longer perform rituals, but instead they are merely featured with business value. In conclusion, although travelling to distant regions creates instant and considerable incomes for both the government and residents, it is attended by long-lasting and radical impacts on the deterioration of the natural environment and traditional culture. Overall, the negative sides of developing tourism in these places prevail over the so-called advantages.