Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic. “Fatherhood ought to emphasised as much as motherhood. The idea that women are solely responsible for deciding whether or not to have babies leads on to the idea that they are also responsible for bringing the children up.” To what extend do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that parenthood is a cumbersome task. In today's,world both fathers and mothers find less time to spend with their children due to their busy work and increasing responsibilities. Whether the father or the mother has a greater role has always been a debated topic. In my opinion, the upbringing of children is a joint effort and both parents have equal responsibility. The main reason why some people believe mothers are more accountable for bringing up their children is that kids spend a lot more time with their mothers than they spent with their fathers right from the time a baby is born. During the initial years of the babies, the babies are dependent more on their mothers for milk and basic needs than their fathers. Due to this dependency, mothers have a greater influence during the first few years of the kid's life. For instance, kids learn a lot from mothers during this stage such as self-control, empathy, love and caring etc which are vital qualities that shape the character of the child. Another reason people think dads have a lesser role is due to the fact that in the majority of families, the dads are full- time workers and the only breadwinner of the house. This makes them busy with work and they have less time to spend with their family. For instance, even though the father is covering all the expenses of the house including education and other expenses during the fostering of the children, they rarely get quality time for social interaction with their children which is very much essential during their growing age. To summarize, bringing up heir is a challenging job and both father and mother have equal responsibilities to share. Working parents need to find time to make sure that their kids are fostered with the right attitudes and skills which will shape the character of the child and make them a better individual when they grow up. These children could be our future scientists or doctors. Hence it is each one of our responsibility that our children are brought upright.