it is common these days to see celebrities advertising different products. do the advantages of this development outweight the disadvantages. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

It is a popular trend that companies have employed an increasing number of celebrated individuals to help advertise merchandise. Personally, the drawbacks outweigh the benefits and this essay will provide a personal experience as an example to support my opinion. Primarily, regarding pros, famous people advertising definitely is an efficient method to sell merchandise. This is because celebrities usually have more fans and those people would like to buy these types of products that were recommended by their idols; hence, companies hardly fail to sell more merchandise to make a number of profits. Moreover, it also can help a brand create instant credibility, especially a new brand. As a result, the public easier to builds a new trust relationship with these new products since they totally trust their idols. Consequently, celebrity advertising may help companies quickly sell a new product and save extra time that will be used to develop a good reputation. However, although it was proved that it has many advantages for merchandise selling, it is a way with a high risk of failure, because the reputation of products is difficult to retrieve once famous individuals appear any misbehaviour. For example, I am a huge fan of purchasing electronic gadgets from Chinese brands due to my idols, but I gave up my purchase willing after some scandal about my idols was published by local media; therefore, reputational damage definitely cause a reduction in the sale volume of merchandise. In conclusion, although celebrity advertising can help a new brand to sell more for a short time, it can suffer from sales failure once famous individuals lack a good reputation due to their misbehaviour; hence, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.