In some countries the average weight of people is increasing, and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Many people around the world tend to gain weight, causing a drop in their well-being and fitness. The origins of this situation seem to stem from two factors, and several remedies appear to be open to us. Possibly the main cause is the sedentary lifestyle in the modern world. By this we mean that people tend to sit for long hours while they are working and resting at home, leading to less movement during the day and thus obesity. According to a study, for instance, the majority of the obese population have a desk job, which demonstrates gaining weight is directly proportional to a less active daily life. A further well-known reason is the popularity of unhealthy food. It is almost universally accepted that finding a fast-food restaurant on every corner is recently quite common. This results in consumers preferring to have their meals in such places instead of healthy alternatives. In commercial areas, for example, people might want to have lunch after shopping, and seeing delicious unhealthy food everywhere would curb their motivation to eat well. Turning to the possible solutions, an obvious step would be government policies to promote people to do sports. For example, if every state of a country had at least one sports center, the folk would be more motivated to move and thus stay fit and healthy. This would eliminate obesity if it is caused by the lack of facilities. Another remedy might be receiving education at early ages about how to eat. If the authorities put some subjects about nutrition in the curriculum, pupils can raise awareness of a balanced diet at school age, causing limited rates of obesity in the future. Many pedagogical experts suggest learning this kind of knowledge at school ages will make it permanent. In conclusion, a sedentary lifestyle and increased consumption of junk food appear to be the main causes of obesity. Government initiatives and proper formal education may well lessen the severity of the situation.