Do you think consumers should avoid over packed products or is it the responsibility of the producer to avoid extra packaging of goods?

Overpacking of the products which was always debatable has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of this trend has sparked controversy over its potential impact in recent years. In my opinion, it is the equal responsibility of both the consumers and producers to avoid extra packaging of products. This essay will further elaborate on my viewpoints, along with a logical conclusion. Analyzing the statement and explaining further, the first and foremost reason behind this is that it increases the cost of production and results in wastage of material, manpower and energy. Another striking reason in this regard is that the use of plastic, which is non-biodegradable, creates a serious problem for the environment. Categorically, it cannot be ignored that the use of paper leads to deforestation, global warming and air pollution. Probing ahead, one of the main underlying reasons stems from the fact that all the materials used for packaging will eventually end up in landfills. Moving further, it is pertinent to mention that the cost of a product increases which puts the burden on the consumer's pocket, and makes the product less competitive in the market. For instance, McDonald's packs its burgers in a paper wrap, and then puts them into a cardboard container, and in the last hands to customers in a paper bag. It increases the cost of the product. To recapitulate, according to the arguments aforementioned above, one can conclude that producers should ethically perform their activities which are not harmful to the environment and consumers should stop purchasing such items to discourage the companies from over-packing their items.