Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The administration should allocate more funding to railway systems instead of constructing new pavemented highways. This essay totally agrees with this statement due to the fact that trains can accommodate a greater number of people not to mention that it is faster and environmentally friendly too. To begin with, due to the increasing traffic in major cities, riding a train to your destination can make your travel faster, cheaper and more convenient. For instance, I am living in the capital city of the Philippines and my everyday journey to work requires long hours of transportation, hopping on a train makes it easier for me and I have never been late to work that would have been impossible if I have had taken a cab or brought my own car. The everyday problem with vehicular traffic on roads can be lessened through more train infrastructures. Moreover, trains can accommodate the great population in big cities. Although travelling with a private car gives some more privacy, using public transportation will help our environment to aid global warming by reducing the number of vehicles on our highways, thus reducing pollution. For example, those workers who bring their car, motorcycle and other motor automated rides that require gasoline and electricity do not need to bring their own if train stations are accessible in each part of the place and this will provide ease and cheaper expenditure given that the price of oil and gas are continuously rising. In conclusion, the building of railway lines is more advantageous than roadways. Although railway systems can have their drawbacks, such as the occasional problem with its computer network, this totally outweighs the benefits that the nation can attain if the government will support the funding for trains and its railways. I totally agree with the statement that it is best to have more trains than consumers buying their own private cars.