Many people believe that the internet has made life much easier for most people. However, others fear that it might also represent a threat. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether the internet has made life easier, or whether it may threaten some aspects of our lives. I believe that, although it has improved the lives of countless people, it is also a threat, particularly to our privacy. The internet has improved people's lives in many ways, but especially by giving access to knowledge and by providing a means of communication. With regard to the former, people who have an internet connection can now educate themselves on virtually any subject that takes their interest. For example, anyone who is interested in learning English can do so for free by using the many teaching sites as well as by being able to watch instructional videos on Youtube. The other major contribution that the internet has made is to revolutionize our ability to communicate. More specifically, it has enabled people to keep in touch with friends and to make contact with similar-minded people throughout the world. However, these benefits do have a potential cost with regard to privacy, as everything that internet users do is recorded by companies like Google and Facebook and their users are powerless to prevent it. It follows that anonymity on the internet is an illusion and internet users should bear in mind that all of their emails and searches are saved and that Google knows more about their activities than their families do. The same applies to social networks like Facebook, whose users seem happy to reveal the identities of their friends and families, as well as their daily activities, to a company that is known to sell its users ' information. In conclusion, even though the internet brings tremendous benefits to many people by providing knowledge and improving communication, it does also threaten our privacy because we cannot control who has access to our private information.