Despite helath warnings, a large number of people continue to smoke all over the world. What are the possible reasons for this ? Suggest some solutions to address this problem.

It has been observed that a multitude of people are indulged in smoking all around the world, although it is detrimental to their health. A person starts smoking because of many reasons like peer pressure and to cope with stress in life, but this can lead to serious health consequences. I shall try to delve deeper into this discourse and suggest some ideas to alleviate the problem. On the one hand, smoking has become a pernicious habit of many inhabitants of all countries. Many people start smoking at a very young age due to peer pressure. It has been seen that teenagers who have friends that smoke are more likely to start smoking than those who do not because they feel it is cool to smoke and also they do not want to stand out. Furthermore, many people smoke because they feel this is a good way to combat all sorts of stress in their lives. In other words, Nicotine present in tobacco cigarettes reaches the brain very rapidly and renders the release of Adrenaline in the body, which triggers the body's fight response and provides a boost in energy level, thus helping in overcoming stress. Also, media and movies influence youngsters. For instance, when they watch their favourite celebrities smoking in the movies, they start imitating their footsteps. On the other hand, the government should take some stringent measures to ban advertisements related to tobacco smoking. The tobacco industry spends a lot of money on celebrity endorsements to promote their product. Additionally, they show that smoking is safe, cool and glamorous in the ads.The concerned government department should increase the tax on cigarettes. For example, Finland's government prohibited smoking in public areas. Along with opening de-addiction centres in the city, people must be made cognizant of the ramifications of tobacco smoking by launching awareness programmes, they should be informed that consumption of tobacco in any way, either orally or intravenously, can cause oral cancer as well as lung cancer. To summarize, it is discernible that smoking is deleterious, yet many people fall prey to smoking. Therefore, government and non-governmental organisations should conduct campaigns to make people aware of the ill effects of smoking.